Jeff in Wonderland

 It’s almost wedding time.  We are going to Santa Cruz on Friday to stay with my partner’s sister and the deed will be done in Monterey on Saturday.   My partner’s son is getting married to his long time live-in girl friend.  They each have two children from previous marriages.  My partner’s ex-wife and her new husband will be there from Oklahoma or as I like to call them the wicked witch and her gorilla.  He’s to big to be a monkey and he doesn’t like to fly, so they are driving out for the occasion.   I am not terribly excited about attending this event, but I am looking forward to going out-of -town for a few days.   Monterey is a fun place to visit. 

If you’re not from California you probably don’t know the area.   Monterey Bay starts with Santa Cruz (Lost Boys) on the north and finishes with Monterey on the south end of the curve.  Truly the Monterey end is the best.  You have Seaside, Pacific Grove, Pebble Beach, and my favorite Carmel and the famous 17 mile drive.   If you are a golfer you already know all about this place.  My partner’s son is a player, which probably had something to do with the location of this circus. 

In a past life my partner and I were Disney collectors.   Now some of his collection is being sold through the local antique mall.  I personally started collecting Alice in Wonderland memorabilia.  There is a great store in Carmel called the White Rabbit, I am hoping to visit.  Now that Johnny Deep has joined the tea party there may be a resurgence of interest in all things Alice.  Marie Osmond is also a fan of Alice and has resently added a new version of the queen of hearts to her collection. 

Classic Disney Queen of Hearts

 

Modern Style Queen of Hearts

 

There is also the Monterey Bay aquarium which I always mean to visit but somehow never find the time.  Maybe it’s that fish smell.  Or perhaps I just don’t like the idea of getting friendly with my food.  

One Response to “Jeff in Wonderland”

  1. That all sounds like fabulous fun.
    Being a tea drinker, I am fond of the mad hatter and the March hare – but especially the dormouse.

    ” Very, very rude” is a favorite saying.

    Like

Leave a comment