Song of Bernadette

My heart goes out for Bernadette Peters.  She will be performing here in Reno on Valentine’s Day.  I really want to go and see her but the venue is terrible.   She will be at the Grand Sierra Resort (formerly MGM, Bally’s, and Hilton). 

This hotel was built in the late 70’s and at the time was the largest hotel in the world.   It also boosts one of the largest stages.    The problem is not with the stage.  The problem is the seating.    Remember those show rooms of old.   Tiny cocktail tables with six people jammed in next to each other.   There are booths too.   But these are not much better.   People were smaller when these theaters were created.  

Alas I can not fit into the booths without holding my breath and those convention room stackable chairs at the cocktail tables make for a pretty uncomfortable evening.  The last time  I saw a show in this venue, two people were sleeping at my table and I couldn’t move for the full 90 minutes.  I am trying to decided if seeing Bernadette again would be worth the discomfort.   I am seriously thinking that yes it would be!

 The write up on the web says: 

Hearts and a star collide this Valentine’s Day for An Evening with Bernadette Peters February 14 …Belting out Broadway tunes as only she can do, Bernadette Peters performs hits from throughout her awards-studded career including the music of Rodgers and Hammerstein and Stephen Sondheim accompanied by a full orchestra.

I do so love when she sings “Send in the Clowns” from “A Little Night Music” and “No One Is Alone”  from “Into the Woods”.  Maybe Ricky has secretly bought tickets and is planning on taking me!! (And maybe the rabbits my new neighbor has are Harry, Peter and the Easter Bunny!)

Leave a comment