Motown week on AI

This week the Idol contestants sang motown classics.  Here is a quick review of last nights performances.

        
Casey Abrams – “Heard It Through The Grapevine” by Marvin Gaye   I want to like this guy but really it doesn’t matter what he sings it all sounds like screech for “Saved by the Bell”.

Dustin Diamond -- In this picture they even look similar.

 P.S.  He almost went home, but the judges saved him.  I missed the whole thing because of snow on my DTV dish.

Casey Abrams gets the judges save!

Thia Megia – “(Love Is Like A) Heat Wave” by Martha & The Vandellas  Again this young girl is like able but she sort of looked like a commerical for T-Mobile, and given the sponsors, maybe that was the point.


Jacob Lusk – “You’re All I Need To Get By” by Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell   To be fair this kid can sing, but there is something about him that upsets me.  Sorry if you are a fan, but I am not.  Sort of an Urkel meets Buddy Love.

"Did I do that?"

Lauren Alaina – “You Keep Me Hangin’ On” by The Supremes    I love this girl, but tonight she got swallowed up by a big dress and her singing was not supreme either.


Stefano Langone – “Hello” by Lionel Richie  I remember Lionel but this Italian just wasn’t there for me.   For some reason JLo loves her some Stefano.  Let’s hope that’s just his singing and she hasn’t gone Paula on us.

Hello Mr. Richie!

Haley Reinhart – “You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me” by The Miracles   It’s going to take a miracle to keep this girl on the show.   I predict she goes home.

    
Scotty McCreery – “For Once In My Life” by Stevie Wonder    Scotty, scotty, scotty… he is still mugging that camera for all it is worth.  His deep voice reminds me of  that song “Elvira” by the Oak Ridge Boys.  But his smirk puts me off.

Can you believe that mustache?

Pia Toscano – “All In Love Is Fair” by Stevie Wonder  While I didn’t remember this was a Stevie song she did a great job.   I think she was more of a Barbara than a Stevie.

1962 was a good year!

Paul McDonald – “The Tracks of My Tears” by The Miracles    Nothing to say except he is wonderful.  He reminds me so much of Rod Stewart.

Oh Maggie can I wear your yellow pants?

Naima Adedapo – “Dancing In The Street” by Martha & The Vandellas   Another one that I just don’t like.   Not even enough to find a comparison.

    
James Durbin – “Living For The City” by Stevie Wonder   This kid is going places.   I don’t know if this was his best but I like him alot.  And he has Assburgers or something.  Didn’t that guy on Alley McBeal have that?

I absolutely loved this show. Even though the star was under nurished. Now that I think of it the Assburger guy was on Boston Legal. Opps.

I suddenly have the urge to purr. And it is Asperger sydrome. I like the other spelling better 😉

Leave a Reply

