The Triple Crown of TV

Thank goodness for the DVR.   I had trouble keeping up with all the shows last night.  We crowned a new American Idol, Lauren Alaina (to be confirmed tonight), we gave the coveted Mirror Ball Trophy to football player, Hines Ward (Kirstie Alley came in second), and the Glee club took 12th place at nationals in New York.   Okay so the last one isn’t a real competition, but then are the other two?

My favorite scene in Glee was at the end when we see Kurt Hummel  sitting in a “Starbuck Like” coffee shop with his boy friend Blaine Anderson telling him about his trip to New York.  Blaine says “I love you”, to Kurt in a tone that would melt anyones heart.  Kurt has a look on his face that says “it’s about time” he pause and then says off the cuff, “I love you too”, and continues “You know, if you think about it, Kurt Hummel’s had a pretty good year”.    Let me tell you something youngsters,  TV has come a long way in it’s depiction of gay love, and this comes as close to reality as anything I have ever seen.  Plus Blaine and Kurt are adorable.  Okay, so these actors are really in there 20’s playing Juniors in High School, but really do we want to see pimple faced teens?  I think not.

As for the new Idol, I have always liked Lauren and I have never liked Scotty with my eyes open. 

And the Mirror Ball Trophy really should have gone to Hines even though I am in love with Kirstie.

DWTS finalists, Hines Ward, Kirstie Alley and Chelsea Kane appear on GMA Credit: Getty Images
Leave a Reply

