Ramblings before the Holiday

“So you think you can dance” started last night to fill in the empty time slot left by Idol’s finale.  I really like this show better than Idol.   Of course, we are in the tryout now, it gets better once they start completing and we get to vote.

I am having trouble focusing on work with the Holiday weekend looming in the near future.  Unfortunately the weather here is not co-operating either.   Can you believe we are supposed to have snow on the valley floor Saturday night and Sunday morning?  Rick will be barbecuing in the bitter cold while we watch him through the window with the heat turned up. (We love you… please keep that door closed.)

Our friends from Oakdale, California, the Mahaney sisters, are visiting for the weekend.   They will leave Sunday and finish their visit to the area up at Lake Tahoe.   I think they have concert tickets or something.   The one sister used to live in our complex but had to return to Oakdale after a bout with cancer.   She is cancer free now, but still suffers from the damage done by the  treatment.   Her hearing is gone, her vision is greatly impaired, but she is alive, I thank God everyday for that.

Memorial day is a time to remember people who have passed.  I choose to celebrate with friends who have not.  When I lived in Southern California, I was directly across the street from a cemetery.  The veterans used to park in my drive way and go over to the cemetery to perform a ceremony which usually involved cannons going off and such.   So I have associated this with veterans all my life.  But now I like to remember everyone on this day who has touch and shaped my life.

Don’t get me wrong, I am still proud of and support our military men and women who have scrificed so much for our freedom, but civilians too, have done many things to heal our wounds and enrich our lives.  May you all rest in peace.

2 Responses to “Ramblings before the Holiday”

  1. “Memorial day is a time to remember people who have passed. I choose to celebrate with friends who have not.”

    Beautiful sentiment. Have a memorable holiday.

  2. I agree with JJ, this is beautiful, “Memorial day is a time to remember people who have passed. I choose to celebrate with friends who have not.” Nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

