Small Change Big Difference (the incredible edible egg??)

Let’s talk about breakfast.   For years I have had eggs, toast and coffee for breakfast every morning.  My partner fixes it for me while I read the paper and watch the morning news.    Well,  I guess I  should have known but I was playing ignorant.   Those eggs have been killing my cholesterol.

When deciding whether to include eggs in your diet, consider the recommended daily limits on cholesterol in your food:

  • If you are healthy, it’s recommended that you limit your dietary cholesterol to less than 300 milligrams (mg) a day.
  • If you have cardiovascular disease, diabetes or a high low-density lipoprotein (LDL, or “bad”) blood cholesterol level, you should limit your dietary cholesterol to less than 200 mg a day.

One large egg has about 186 mg of cholesterol — all of which is found in the yolk.  — Mayo Clinic cardiologist, Thomas Behrenbeck, M.D., Ph.D.

That means every morning I had 372 mg of cholesterol, already over the daily limit and I haven’t even eaten any meat yet.   Okay, so I have been sort of justifying this because so far it has not been proven that increasing or decreasing cholesterol in ones diet actually helps reduce the risk of heart disease.  It varies from person to person.  So I have been fooling myself and thinking it is okay to eat eggs everyday, after all my grandparents did right?   My grandparents also did hard physical labor, I sit at a desk most of the day.

So I made a small change.   I now fix my own breakfast.   I eat a cup of cereal with a half cup of milk on it.   Sometimes I throw in a banana.   It’s not my favorite thing in the world.  I miss my eggs and bagels or toast.  But I am doing this to keep alive.   I have to start eating to live and not living to eat.  I am not sure who said that but it’s true.

So when lunch comes around I am pretty hungry.  That’s the next order of change.   I will talk about what I have done there in another posting.  If any of you have other suggestions for breakfast I am all ears.   I have been thinking about greek yogart.  The comercial says it makes the next person you see look like John Stamos.  I can deal with that illusion.

One Response to “Small Change Big Difference (the incredible edible egg??)”

  1. Saturated fat, not food cholesterol, is far more likely to raise your cholesterol. I eat a lot of eggs, with oatmeal (to wash out the cholesterol) and my cholesterol is now its lowest.

Leave a Reply

