You don’t have to give up sweets

This is a particularly good topic today.  Last night Rick and I went to Dairy Queen and had Blizzards.  You see they have this deal, buy one get the second one for 99 cents, any size!  Rick has been bugging me since the promotion started.  Yesterday I saved up enough calories to allow us to indulge.   We stuck to the small size.  Even that came in at 550 calories for my favorite, Reese’s.

The key to sweets is planning.   We had a healthy lunch and a low-calorie dinner which left room for this treat.   While it is not the right choice on a regular basis it was delightful.   The thing to remember is not to over indulge during the day and then expect to have a sweets anyway.   Yes, this does happen, particularly after having Italian food.   I want the gelato and the big plate of pasta.  But if I have the chicken piccata and skip the garlic bread, the gelato is within reach.

So what about my diabetes?  Aren’t you supposed to stay away from sugar?   The answer is yes and no.    Whether I have sweets or not is a matter of preference.  The real tick is to maintain a balanced diet and not overeat.  Weight loss is the number one cure for diabetes, while you are still on pills and haven’t advanced to insulin shots.  It is possible that after losing considerable weight I will no longer be diabetic.    High calorie sweets do not contribute to weight loss.  But they do make things more tolerable.

There are some tricks, if you will, to dealing with sweets.  I have already touched on one of them, Hold the bread if you want dessert.   Backing off on other carbohydrate intake in the same meal makes that dessert less of a problem.

A second tick is to pick low-fat or fat-free desserts.   This one doesn’t work for me.  If the desert is fat-free I tend to eat more of it and don’t get that same gratification.  I would rather have less of the real thing then a lot some substitute.  This does bring up a good point though.  You can split a dessert.   And if you still have a sweet tooth, have some fruit or other fibrous sugars with it.   Strawberries over that half a slice of cheese cake for example.   

It is sad to say that donuts are never a good idea, even with jelly or apples in them.  But if you have that fruit filled donut, maybe you won’t eat as many.   I love my donuts plain with lots of air whipped into them.  If makes me think I am eating less!  Of course that sugary glaze on the outside has no calories, right? The smart choice is a bran muffin, but somehow they just don’t do it for me.  Really,  avoiding donuts is the best thing for me.

There are other tips, like “truly savor each bite”, hah, that doesn’t work for me either.  But I have stopped drinking sodas, diet or otherwise.  I have switch to ice tea, no sugar (maybe some sweet n low and lemon).  You see I think that diet soda makes you hungry.  And they are addictive.  I could drink them one right after the other, with potty breaks of course.   Some how the body is fooled into thinking it had consumed real sugar.  The problem here is that it has reacted to that sugar it didn’t have and makes you crave more to balance out the chemicals it released to digest it.  I am not a doctor.  This is just my own theory.  But it makes some logical sense, don’t you think?

What have we learned here?   Sugar is not the enemy.  In moderation it can be part of a balanced diet.  Before I close this post here are some tips from the web for cutting down on sugar:

  • Reduce how much soda and juice you drink.If you miss your carbonation kick, try sparkling water either plain or with a little juice mixed in.
  • Reduce the amount of sugar in recipesby ¼ to ⅓. If a recipe calls for 1 cup of sugar, for example, use ⅔ or ¾ cup instead. You can also boost sweetness with cinnamon, nutmeg, or vanilla extract.
  • Find healthy ways to satisfy your sweet tooth. Instead of ice cream, blend up frozen bananas for a creamy, frozen treat. Or enjoy a small chunk of dark chocolate, rather than your usual milk chocolate bar.
  • Start with half of the dessert you normally eat, and replace the other half with fruit.

P.S.  Remember how blizzards were so thick the attendant would turn it upside down and show you it would fall out of the cup?  Well, the one in Sparks still does, but the one in Reno sometimes serves a melty mess.  Maybe I should get a box of Dilly Bars or better yet go home and make some instead.  Follow the link to “raw dilly bars”.

One Response to “You don’t have to give up sweets”

  1. happily i have no sweet tooth; my nemesis is starchy htings like noodles and crackers and chips.

Leave a Reply

