Meat, it’s what’s for breakfast, lunch, and dinner

I am not in the habit of using four letter words, like Diet.  But I am on a plateau in the weight loss department.  I have been desperately searching for that motivational speech or that miracle drug that would magically take me back 20 years and over 100 pounds.   After reading several “transformational” blogs,  I decided to pick one that sounded like a plan, at least in the near term.

Apparently, the French, it would seem, don’t have a weight problem.  I am guessing it’s because they don’t wear pants.  That’s a good 5 pounds right there!  Having never been to France I can’t confirm or deny this rumor.  Having been to an expensive French restaurant where aesthetics take precedence over portion size I can start to believe this is true.   Not only is it too expensive to eat  there but you don’t get much for your money.    Remember, I live in a city that once touted 99 cent breakfasts, and still has a buffet on every corner.

So how am I going to eat like a Frenchman?  Well, as it turns out I don’t have too.  A fellow blogger put me on to “The Durkan Diet”.   I realize I may be a little late to the game on this one but, it has worked for her and I was inspired to get the book and try it myself.   This diet was first published back in 2000.  The version I bought was updated in 2010.  So it has been tried before by millions of people.

Here is the deal.  I  need some structure to over come my inability to control the power that food has on me.  This diet like any other best seller works if you stick to the rules.   The reason I have chosen this one is because it seems to fit my life style better than some of the others.  The diet has four phases.  The first is geared toward rapid weight loss in a short period of time.  This phase is called the attack phase.  I am hoping it will give me the kick-start I need to stay motivated.  The second phase lasts until you reach your goal weight.  The third phase is designed to help you stay at the goal.  And the final phase never ends.    I think those are the key words, it never ends.   Weight is a life long struggle.

I won’t go into the details of all the phase at this point, largely because I haven’t finished reading the whole book and secondly because I am concentrating on the Attack phase at the moment. 

The Attack phase is really quit simple.  You have a list of foods you can eat.  You need to drink plenty of water, a minimum of 1 1/2 quarts a day.    You need to eat a small amount of oat bran.  And you need to walk 20 minutes a day.

It sounds so simple.  You can eat as much as you want of the food on the list.  Okay, so what is the catch here?   Some of you probably already know.  You are restricted to protein.  It is a bit like the old protein shake diets that doctors used to prescribe.  The difference is you don’t have to gag down those horrible shakes.   You can eat meat!

I have gotten Ricky on board to do this diet with me.  The difference is that he doesn’t need to lose as much weight as me so he will go on to phase 2 before I do.   Because I want to lose well over a hundred pounds I need to be in phase 1 for the maximum time of 10 days.  We are going shopping this weekend so we can be prepared to start this on Monday.

I want to express here that any diet will work if you follow it.   I read the history of this diet and the theory, which the author provides in the first part of the book.   What hooked me was the testimonial style development of this diet.  He tells a story of a patient who came to him desperate to lose weight.  The patient said he didn’t want to die.   I don’t want to die either. 

I will, of course, keep you informed of our progress and what we like and dislike about this adventure, here in this blog,  starting this weekend  with what foods we buy to start out.   I will tell you about the recipes we try out of the book and whether we liked them or not.   And most of all I will tell you how I am feeling.    You see food controls my life.   If I am stressed, I eat,  If I am happy, I eat.   If I am awake, I eat.  So getting this upper hand is not going to be simple.

 It is funny because I totally relate to Mike in Mike & Molly.  He found the wedding cake hidden in the freezer.  Molly was upset.  His only response was he almost didn’t see it as he continued to devour it in front of her.  “Who want year old cake?”   Let me tell you if I could find it, I would try to eat it and so would Mike.

One Response to “Meat, it’s what’s for breakfast, lunch, and dinner”

  1. 🙂 I followed the Dukan diet for 8 months, strictly with no cheating, and lost 115lbs. My friend did the exact same. My 65 year old grandmaman lost 75lbs in 6 months on the Dukan diet, my aunt lost 40, my mom lost 20lbs.

    We have all kept it off. The diet works if you follow it dear! 🙂 Remember to drink a TON of water, and eat loads! It helps curb cravings, don’t starve yourself! 🙂

    You can do it! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

