Confession of a Facebook Voyeur

I wonder if there is a 12 step program for this, “My name is Jeff and I am a Facebook Voyeur”.   I can’t help myself.  I go on-line and checkout everyone’s  news feeds.  Then I find myself prying further, looking at their walls.   And then the unthinkable, I start looking at their friends and their friends walls and so on and so until I am knee deep in other peoples business and connecting the dots like Magnum PI.   But I never (almost never) post anything on Facebook myself.

This curiosity has caused more than it’s share of problems.  For example,  I know that my son’s ex-wife has a new boy friend and he has moved in with her.   I see posts by my son’s soon to be ex-wife number 2  about her opening her own bank account and getting her family’s support to help her move out.  I see the nasty things she posts about “husband” and then takes down a hour later.

I spy on my grand daughters!  For shame, I know.  But it gets worse, I tattle on them to their father!  My youngest girl (11) is constantly posting how in love she is with Justin Bieber and herself.   Her profile picture changes at least 5 times a day!    On Saturday I got her into hot water with her father.   She posted that she liked a video.  All I could see was feet on the opening frame.   I assumed it was Justin or New Direction.  Curiosity took over and I watched it.   It was the most horrifying video I had ever seen.  These boys could be heard giggling.  They put a puppy in a bowl and pour some liquid over it.  This is were is all goes wrong.   They throw in a match.    I couldn’t watch the rest.   I told her father about it and he immediately got angry.   After he finished making her cry I checked the comments on the post.  She had expressed how horrible the video was too.   Now I felt bad.   She didn’t mean to like it she just wanted to comment on  it and    she had to like it to do so (not sure if this is true or not but that’s the excuse).   The thing is she is friends with grandma and auntie and a whole lot of relatives that would have jumped to the same conclusion I did!   She was so flustered and she couldn’t figure out how to unlike it.   I reported it as spam.  My older grand daughter says that would prompt someone at Facebook to see the post and remove it.

So Ricky got mad at me.  Brandon got mad at me and of course my grand daughter was upset with me too.

Next day,  I am spying on daughter-in-law, soon to be ex.   She posts some religious crap and a something thanking her friends and family for helping her.   Our son got a text that she had moved out.    I assume this is what they helped her with.    When Sonny Boy got home he found that she had taken the wires that connect the TV to U-verse and he could not watch TV anywhere in the house.    Ricky got on FB and commented on her thank you saying “and a big shout out to the one who took the TV cables.”    Before he could even finish texting our son about it,  she had de-friended both of us.  No more spying on her!

I gotta get a life of my own now!  Damn!

4 Responses to “Confession of a Facebook Voyeur”

  1. The homophobic, right wing nut case husband of my co-worker reads her FB accout. He saw a video that I had posted about TWO BROTHERS dancing the tango. Ironically there was nothing gay about the video, my intent was how well two men danced a tango versus a man and a woman. The homophobe too umbrage and posted a nasty comment to me. I thought my co-worker posted the comment. I posted a comment back. It escalated and then I found out the husband was actually posting the comments. All hell broke loose at work. Our boss got involved. My co-worker, who I formerly got along well, was now estranged from me because she took her husband’s side when I called him a bigoted homophobe who is a coward by using his wife’s FB account to CRITICIZE what I post to FB. The upshot was that I had to unfriend all my co-workers and start a new FB account, clean of the vouyers like him. Now I have two FB accounts. I don’t know how to get rid of the first one. Plus, I probably have other homophobes making sure I don’t post anything “too gay” to upset their sensitive natures. Tis not good. I only use FB now to share photos with family.

  2. Confessing my FB ignorance, I did not know one could see other people’s timeline if they had not ‘friended’ you. If someone is a FB friend then it isn’t really spying; is it? I rarely go past which showws up on my timeline.

    One of the reasons I took the plunge into blogging is because I was getting so frustated by FB. I’ve always tried to keep it pretty neutral but there are times it is impossible not to get on the wrong side of someone or another.

Leave a Reply

