Uncontrollable eating or stressed to the max

Baby eating dogs

Baby eating dogs!

There is a four letter word I have been avoiding lately,  diet.   It is really a simple thing.  I need to keep track of what I put in my mouth.   Left unchecked, I eat everything in site.  As a result I have gained back 5 pounds.  Yikes!

I am starting to journal everything again today.   It is amazing how just seeing all the crap you eat in terms of calories can slow down your intake.    I do okay while I am at work.  There is no snack machine here.   I am left with water or coffee.  It is when I get home.  I am suddenly stricken with a desire to raid the pantry and the frig.  I eat continuously from entry the condo till sometime after dinner when I catch myself.  It has nothing to do with being hungry.  I am searching for something to make me “feel good”.  In the end I am sad.

I need to break this chain reaction fast, before I gain all the weight I worked so hard to lose back and then some.  What else can make me “feel good”?  Going for a walk, playing with the cat, playing games on the computer,  I need to find something to do with my hands besides shoveling food in my face.

Prego Amy.tif

I have been blaming it on stress.  I have been very stressed out.  So much so that I wake up thinking about all the problems back at the office.  This can keep me awake for several hours in the middle of the night.  I have tried getting up and doing something about it, or thinking about our vacation plans, anything so I can sleep.  I need to let it go.

So the other night I tried to think about going to Palm Springs.  It turned into a different sort of nightmare.  We were there in the room and suddenly Ricky turned into my ex-boyfriend Roger.  I really could’t sleep after that,  trying to please Roger was an impossible task, so I see how he became a replacement for my anxious thoughts about work.

I did some research on stress.  It can be a good thing in small amounts.  It is what motivates us to accomplish things.  Where is the fine line between motivation and overload?

Stress is what keeps you on your toes during a presentation at work, sharpens your concentration when you’re attempting the game-winning free throw, or drives you to study for an exam when you’d rather be watching TV.

But beyond a certain point, stress stops being helpful and starts causing major damage to your health, your mood, your productivity, your relationships, and your quality of life.

Psychologist Connie Lillas uses a driving analogy to describe the three most common ways people respond when they’re overwhelmed by stress:

  • Foot on the gas – An angry or agitated stress response. You’re heated, keyed up, overly emotional, and unable to sit still.
  • Foot on the brake – A withdrawn or depressed stress response. You shut down, space out, and show very little energy or emotion.
  • Foot on both – A tense and frozen stress response. You “freeze” under pressure and can’t do anything. You look paralyzed, but under the surface you’re extremely agitated.

There is one more response she missed.  Going through the drive-up and shoveling fast food in your face.

Well that’s enough for me today.  Hope everyone has a great weekend.  Stress free!

3 Responses to “Uncontrollable eating or stressed to the max”

  1. Dieting is perhaps one of the hardest tasks to accomplish. Many of us seek food for comfort. Food is our friend in times of stress, loneliness or just plain boredom. The important thing to remember is to eat in moderation, do not deprive yourself of the occasional “treat” and definitely don’t use food as your “friend.” Enjoy your food but in small bites. For myself I find the best diet is an affair. Easier said than done. 😦Retired in Delaware

  2. journaling helps – yes
    good luck.

  3. I think you need to keep yourself busy with something and away from food.

Leave a Reply

