Weighing in…diet or lifestyle change?

Last time I talked about what my motivation is to lose weight.  Now let’s see if we can figure out the how part.  The standard answer here is move more eat less, diet and exercise.  These words evoke years of pain and suffering and with very little success.  People say it’s not a diet it’s a lifestyle change.  Bull shit.  When I married Ricky that was a lifestyle change.   If I don’t eat sweets, fried foods, or starches of any type (bread, pasta, potatoes, and rice) that is cruel and inhumane punishment, not a lifestyle change.  If I go to the gym every evening after work and ride the elliptical or the bike or the treadmill, instead of going home to eat dinner that is more punishment.

 

But Jeff, you say, think of your goals.  Double bull shit.

 

So what am I going to do?  I have been logging everything I eat in my new Fitbit app.  I wear this damn bracelet that reminds me of prison, even though I have never been there, everywhere but in the shower.  It is telling me things I already know.   You ate too much, you aren’t moving enough, you aren’t getting enough sleep (because I am dreaming about food!).  So this Martha Stewart anklet that I wear on my wrist reports all this data to my phone.  I can graph it out.  Whoopee!  I can see failure in a pie chart or a bar graph, wonderful.  I know I can’t stop thing about that pie either.

 

I have the tools…or at least the ones there are available to me.  My company bought me the Fitbit as part of our Healthy Tracks program.  Here is the problem.  I like to eat.  I like to sit and do nothing. I hate to drink water. I love sweets. I love bread.   The answer to this problem is moderation.  Triple bullshit.  If I open a bag of chips, I am going to eat a bag of chips.   If I have one pieces of pizza, I won’t stop till the pie is gone.  There’s that word again, pie.

 

We got a dog.  I hate walking that damn thing.  It’s cold out there and he wants to lift his leg on every tree and sniff out the perfect place to poop.  Please just go, so I can get back in side and sit and do nothing, like the cat.

 

Then there is the limited result of my attempt to comply with these rules.  The first week I can shed 5 pounds.  Then ……….nothing more.  It is very discouraging.   When I was younger I could lose weight much more easily.  My metabolism has slowed down.  You have read my previous posts about diet pills and magic elixirs.  None of that works.  The diet pills were like being on Meth.  Not that I have ever done drugs but I know I didn’t feel normal.

 

I am on that plateau now.  Waiting for the scales to turn in my favor.  If my will power can just hold out for a few more days.  I will get past this lull.  It is a diet.  It is exercise for no reason.  It will work eventually.

2 Responses to “Weighing in…diet or lifestyle change?”

  1. I understand your frustration. That said, perhaps you should view lifestyle changes in a different light; they are certainly not something that require you to give up all of your favorite foods, which is something I just recently discussed on my blog. In fact, the best diet is one which allows you to splurge a couple of times a week.

    Further still, there is nothing that says that more nutritious foods have to be less delicious than our favorite fried foods or sugary desserts. Obviously, cheesecake is superior to broccoli, but well seasoned baked chicken with broccoli puree, a side of crispy green beans, and a slice of whole grain bread with a dollop of butter is actually much more delicious to some people than the Thanksgiving turkey. I think it just takes time to find healthy dishes we like because many of us were raised on delicacies which should never have been given to us on a regular basis. We have to essentially rewire our palates, if that is at all possible.

    I might also add that diet pills are, as you’ve pointed out, garbage. They’re just cash grabs which prey on our insecurities. We already know the best ways to reshape our bodies; we just don’t want to commit.

    I do hope that you find some medium that works for you. Enjoying food is a big part of life, but we can’t neglect our health because the neglect catches up with us, at which point we are sometimes forced to completely give up our cheesecakes and chocolate chip cookies. I remember this whenever I think about my diabetic uncle who can’t even eat baked potatoes because of his extremely high blood sugar.

    Best wishes,

    Chris

  2. I am doing the same thing. We can do this.

Leave a Reply

